The 2024 Sulzberger Fellows

Announcing the 2024 Fellows for the Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program at Columbia Journalism School.

The 2024 Sulzberger Fellows

Today I am excited to reveal the 2024 Fellows for the Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program at Columbia Journalism School!

They have been invited to be Sulzberger Fellows because we believe they have the ability to shape the future of journalism and, therefore, the future of democracy - plain and simple. The journalism industry is under threat - politically, culturally, and economically. Now, more than ever, we need leaders who can guide journalism to a robust and sustainable future. We believe that these fellows will be those leaders.

Here are the 2024 Sulzberger Fellows:

  • Abby Blachman - Product Engineer, The 19th
  • Sewell Chan - Editor in Chief, The Texas Tribune (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Shanté Cosme - Chief Content Officer, Global Press
  • Chase Davis - Vice President, Head of Strategy & Transformation, Star Tribune
  • Sharif Durhams - Managing Editor - News & Programming, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Jean Friedman-Rudovsky - Executive Director, Resolve Philly
  • David Fucillo - Head of Sports Betting Content, SB Nation / Vox Media
  • Kerstin Hasse - Member of The Editorial Board, Tages-Anzeiger / TX Group
  • Basil Honegger - Head of Video & Member of the Editorial Board, 20 Minuten / TX Group
  • John Keefe - Weather Data Editor, The New York Times
  • Beat Krapf - Head of Strategic Projects & New Business, 20 Minuten / TX Group
  • Jonathan Laurence - Supervising Executive Producer, AJ+
  • Francesca Levy - Executive Director, Marketplace / American Public Media
  • Nomzamo Majuqwana - Director, Inclusion Insights & Action, The New York Times
  • Allison Markowitz - Senior Producer, TODAY & Senior Content Producer, TODAY 360, NBC News
  • Alban Mazrekaj - Lead Product Manager, NZZ
  • Ryan Nave - Executive Editor, Reckon / Advance Local
  • Liz Kelly Nelson - Former Vice President, Vox / Vox Media
  • Christabel Nsiah-Buadi - Community Development Lead, Creator Experience, Spotify (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Natalia Ramírez Jaramillo - Director of Strategic Communication & Futures Design, Radio Ambulante Studios (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Ian Sager - Vice President of Audience Development, Sharecare
  • Otis R. Taylor Jr. - Managing Editor of News & Enterprise, KQED
  • Hiroshi Toyofuku - Head of Business, Nikkei Asia / Nikkei Inc.
  • Tobias Wedermann - Head of Sport & Member of the Editorial Board, 20 Minuten / TX Group

Each of these fellows will use the 21 weeks of the program to accelerate a strategic project for their organization. Let’s meet each 2024 Sulzberger Fellow and learn more about their projects:

I am excited to assemble such an accomplished group of leaders in journalism and honored to begin this journey with them to implement these strategic projects. They will begin on January 2 with two intensive weeks at Columbia Journalism School. They will then be supported virtually as they accelerate their projects over 18 weeks back at their organizations before returning for a final week at Columbia on May 20. I can’t wait to see how the intentional serendipity of bringing together these innovators will impact these leaders, their organizations, and the journalism industry as a whole.

The next Sulzberger cohort will run from January to May 2025. Sign up for the mailing list to be the first to know when applications open.

Do you want to support your top leaders to accelerate your media organization's most important strategic projects? Reach out to me at You can also inquire about other ways to work with me here.